Posthumous honor for Ralph Dunlap

Family members of the late Ralph Dunlap were surprised with a posthumous honor in his name at the Harrison Soil and Water Conservation’s 65th Annual Meeting and Banquet. Dunlap and his son, Cliff, were added to the Conservation Hall of Fame for years of preserving their farmland. Cliff still operates the Lone Elm Farm on Deersville Ridge Road. Pictured are, front from left, Jennifer Dunlap, Jay McKibben, Florence McKibben, Irene Dunlap and Carol Heavilin. Middle: Todd Dunlap, Michelle Dunlap, Wade Dunlap, Cliff Dunlap, Jackie Dunlap and Blair Heavilin. Back: HSWCD Chairman Don Jones and Secretary Tillie Heavilin.


News-Herald Staff Writer

SCIO – Nearly 70 people, including conservation representatives, local farmers and educators were on hand at Scio United Methodist Church to honor local residents for effective conservation practices for natural resources during the Harrison Soil and Water Conservation District’s 65th Annual Meeting and Banquet.

The event also included a fundraising silent auction and the elections of supervisors Pickens and Dean White, whose terms begin on Jan. 1. Outgoing while vice chair Steve Moore was also thanked for his time of service.

Chairman Don Jones said the board was interviewing a replacement for Yvonne Ackerman, who left the program administrator’s post this summer. Jones said Ray Rummell, natural resources specialist, has filled in during the interim and four applicants were being interviewed this month.

HSWCD’s mission is to promote stewardship by providing education and technical assistance to cooperators for the conservation of natural resources. In 2010, the group assisted in various improvement projects, including brush management, fencing, pipeline, prescribed grazing, gutter, access road, spring developments, stream crossings, stock tanks, underground outlets, timber stand improvement and timber harvest plan reviews, as well as pollution and erosion complaint investigations.

Jones said the organization, like many others, is facing funding issues but will continue to press onward. “We’ll push hard and work with officials,” he said. “Money is tight but what we do is very important. We look forward to moving ahead in 2011.”

Kim Arbaugh, a past HSWCD program administrator, received the Educator of the Year Award from treasurer Jim Pickens and chairman Don Jones for her continuing work in school programs.

Departing SWCD Vice Chairman Steven Moore and Rick Moore were lauded for being named Ohio Outstanding Conservation Farm of the Year Area III winner during the banquet. They were one of five winners awarded this year for the Farm Science Review. Pictured are, from left, Steve Moore, HSWCD Natural Resources Specialist Ray Rummell and Rick Moore.

Robert and Sandra Shull earned the Conservation Farm of the Year Award from the HSWCD for efforts to revitalize their farm in Nottingham Township. Pictured are front from left, Robert and Sandra Shull. Back: HSWCD Chairman Don Jones and Secretary Tillie Heavilin. NH Photos/AMY GAREIS